两名土著妇女在笑
性别平等与增强妇女权能
图片来源: ©妇女署/Ryan Brown


普世价值 
原则三:性别平等与增强妇女权能 

性别平等旨在形成认可男性和女性、女孩和男孩之间公平分配资源的态度和政策决定。它不仅仅是技术工作,更是复杂的政治任务,是看待社会规范和权力结构如何影响不同男性和女性群体生活和机会的一种方式。了解男性和女性、男孩和女孩经历不同类型的贫困;在获得服务、经济资源和政治机会方面面临不同的障碍,有助于采取有针对性的干预措施。然而,性别角色和关系并并非一成不变,而是会根据环境的变化而变化。为了推进可持续发展目标并实现2030年议程,性别不平等问题必须被列入项目和分析的重点。各可持续发展目标取得更快进展很大程度上将取决于性别层面被彻底纳入公共政策。 

性别平等有助于实现更强劲、更可持续的发展。实现性别平等不仅是紧迫的道德和社会问题,也是关键的经济挑战。如果全球工作适龄人口占半的妇女不能充分实现经济潜力,全球经济也将受到影响。若妇女在劳动力市场上能获得与男性相同的公平待遇,到2025年,全球年度GDP增长可能高达28万亿美元,增幅26%。性别不平等也间接地影响了投资和人口增长。东亚和非洲撒哈拉以南地区、南亚和中东地区与全球增长率均值低0.4%至0.9%,因为上述地区在教育方面普遍存在性别不平等。此外,教育中的性别不平等阻碍在减少意外怀孕、高生育率和儿童死亡率方面的进展,从而有损一国福祉。在鼓励妇女担任政治领导职务的社会中,学校在性别方面更为均衡,社会总体上更和平与公平。越来越多的经验证据表明,性别不平等程度较高的社会出现内部冲突的风险更大。 

Caption: 黎巴嫩农村妇女在保护当地环境的同时带来经济机会。视频由联合国妇女署/性别平等基金制作。

自《北京行动纲要》(1995年)和经济及社会理事会第1997/2 号商定结论(ECOSOC 1997/2)以来,将社会性别主流化作为实现性别平等目标的战略已在联合国系统内得到授权,随后纳入联合国系统所有主要工作领域。经社理事会将性别平等主流化定义为“让女性和男性的关切和经验成为所有政治、经济和社会领域的政策和方案的设计、实施、监测和评估的一个组成部分,从而使女性和男性平等受益、不平等现象不复存在的策略。针对性的干预措施和综合行动都是有效的社会性别主流化措施”。您可阅读更多关于社会性别主流化的内容。 

联合国实现全系统性别平等的承诺得到强有力的立法和体制框架支持,包括《联合国宪章》、妇女地位委员会、《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》、大会决议、第四次妇女问题世界会议的《北京宣言和行动纲要》以及最近的《2030可持续发展议程》。自1945年联合国成立以来,这一框架不断发展并加强。请前往联合国规范性框架,了解更多相关信息。 

此外,联合国还建立了两个内部问责机制:  

  • 全系统性别平等和增强妇女权能行动计划(UN SWAP 2.0)为联合国系统各实体提供问责框架,给出共同商定的标准和协调一致的方法。评级系统由五个级别组成,帮助联合国实体自我评估并报告各项指标表现,并逐步向优秀表现迈进。因此,评级系统旨在加强领导力、明确方向,并加强一致性。 
  • 联合国国家工作队性别平等记分卡是对联合国国家层面的社会性别主流化实践和绩效的标准化自我评估,旨在确保高级管理人员负责并提高国家工作队的表现。记分卡包含一系列指标,是管理层为合作框架实现性别平等的路线提出的应对举措。 

提高联合国改革对性别问题的敏感度联合国可持续发展合作框架指南将性别问题确定为六项方案编制原则之一。关于方案编制原则的配套文件为联合国国家工作队在合作过程中纳入性别问题提供了指导。要想深入了解方法,找到每个步骤的最佳做法、实用工具和例子,请使用《将社会性别主流化纳入国家一级方案拟定工作资源手册》(2019)。  

性别专题小组应被视为“改革及加强国家工作队在国家一级性别平等和增强妇女权能应对能力的关键动力”。《性别专题小组资源指南》更新版是了解部署及强化这一机制的关键资源。

Photo: © UN Women/Ryan Brown
Gender Equality & Women's Empowerment


Universal Values 
Principle Three: Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment


More than a technical exercise, gender equality is a politically complex effort to shape attitudes and policy decisions that endorse equitable distribution of resources among men and women, girls and boys. It is a way of looking at how social norms and power structures impact the lives and opportunities available to different groups of men and women. Understanding that men and women, boys and girls, experience poverty differently and face different barriers in accessing services, economic resources and political opportunities helps to target interventions. However, gender roles and relationships are not fixed; they evolve based on circumstance. To advance the SDG targets and achieve the 2030 Agenda, Gender inequality must be brought to the forefront of programmes and analysis. Faster progress across all the SDGs will largely depend on the thorough integration of gender dimensions in public policies.

Gender equality makes development stronger and more sustainable. It is not only a pressing moral and social issue but also a critical economic challenge. If women—who account for half the world’s working-age population—do not achieve their full economic potential, the global economy will suffer. In fact, if women were afforded the same equity as men in the labour market, the global annual GDP could potentially grow by as much as $28 trillion, or 26 per cent by the year 2025. Gender inequality also indirectly impacts investment and population growth. The estimated 0.4 to 0.9 per cent difference in the growth rate between East Asia and Sub Saharan Africa, South Asia, and the Middle East is due to the higher gender inequality within education that prevails in those regions. Moreover, gender inequality in education prevents progress in the reduction of unintended pregnancies and high fertility and child mortality rates, thereby compromising a country’s well-being. Societies that encourage women to hold political leadership positions demonstrate more equally balanced schools, and are overall more peaceful and equitable. There is a growing body of empirical evidence that suggests there is a greater risk of internal conflict within societies that have higher levels of gender inequality.

Caption: Rural Lebanese women weave economic opportunity while conserving the local environment. Produced by UN Women/Fund for Gender Equality


Gender Mainstreaming as a strategic approach for achieving the goal of gender equality, has been mandated in the UN system since the Beijing Platform for Action (1995) and the 1997/2 agreed conclusions of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC 1997/2), and subsequently across all of the major areas of work of the UN system. The ECOSOC defined gender mainstreaming as “a strategy for making women’s as well as men’s concerns and experiences an integral dimension of the design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of policies and programmes in all political, economic and societal spheres so that women and men benefit equally, and inequality is not perpetrated. Both targeted interventions and integrated operations are valid forms of gender mainstreaming measures." Read more on Gender Mainstreaming

The UN’s commitment to achieving system-wide gender parity is underpinned by a strong legislative and institutional framework, which has been consistently developed and strengthened since the establishment of the United Nations in 1945. This framework includes the Charter of the United Nations, the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), Resolutions of the General Assembly, the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action of the Fourth World Conference on Women, and most recently the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Learn more about the UN's normative framework here

In addition, two internal accountability mechanisms were instituted

  • The System Wide Action Plan for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN SWAP 2.0) provides an accountability framework which defines commonly-agreed standards and coordinated approaches for each entity in the UN System. The rating system consists of five levels and allows the UN entity to self-assess and report on their standing with respect to each indicator, and to move progressively toward excellent performance. As such, the rating system is intended as an aid to promote leadership and direction and enhance coherence.  
     
  • UNCT SWAP Gender score card, is a standardized self-assessment of UN Country-level gender mainstreaming practices and performance that aims to ensure accountability of senior managers and improve UNCT performance. Based on a set of indicators, it implies a management response which could be used as a gender road map during the Cooperation framework exercise. 

Make the UN Reform Gender sensitive. The United Nations Sustainable Development Cooperation framework guidance identifies gender as one of the six programming principles. The Companion Piece on Programming principles provides guidance to United Nations Country Teams (UNCT) to integrate gender in the cooperation process. To go deeper in the methodology and find best practices, practical tools and examples for each step, use the Resource Book for Mainstreaming Gender in UN Common Programming at the Country Level (2019). 

 
Gender Theme Group should be considered “key drivers of change and enhanced UNCT response on gender equality and women’s empowerment at national level”. The updated Resource Guide for Gender theme group is a key resource to see how to set and strengthen this instrument.