Micronesia (MCO)

In Kiribati, young footballers dance with a girl in traditional dress at a UNFPA-supported tournament.
Photo: © Carly Learson/UNFPA

The Micronesia Multi-Country Office (MCO) 

Overseeing and supporting UN’s engagements in the North Pacific, the UN MCO Micronesia covers the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Republic of Nauru, and the Republic of Kiribati. Following its formal establishment on 1 October 2021 with Resident Coordinator’s appointment by the UN Secretary General on 1 October 2021, 2022 was the first full year of MCO’s representational presence in Micronesia.

UN Presence in Micronesia

There are 13 UN resident agencies in Micronesia: ESCAP, FAO, IOM, ITU, UNCTAD, UNDP, UNESCO, UNFPA, UNICEF, UNODC, UNOPS, UNWOMEN and WHO. Non-resident agencies include IAEA, IFAD, ILO, UNCDF, UN Environment, UN-Habitat, UNIDO, UNHCR, and WFP. These agencies implement projects and programs in the region in partnership with resident agencies.

Development goals and objectives

The UN Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework (UNSDCF) 2023 - 2027 is a five-year strategic framework that outlines the collective response of the UN system to the development priorities in 14 Pacific Island countries and territories, including five Micronesian countries, and supports governments and peoples in the Pacific to advance a localised response to the global 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The UNSDCF 2023-2027 focuses on strengthening partnerships to support countries in four interlinked areas of Planet, People, Prosperity, and Peace, to ensure that no one is left behind, that people are equal and free to exercise their fundamental rights, to promote gender equality and peace, and to enable nations and their communities to become resilient to existential threats.


  1. On October 1, 2021, the United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres appointed Jaap van Hierden as the United Nations Resident Coordinator in Micronesia.
  2. The UN multi-country office Micronesia hub office was opened in Pohnpei in November 2021.
  3. By December 2022, the UN Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework (UNSDCF) 2023 - 2027 was signed and endorsed by all five Micronesian countries.
  4. By April 2023, Country Implementation Plans (CIPs) for all five countries were developed ensuring country-specific support.
  5. Supported Marshall Islands, Palau, Kiribati in the establishment of an emergency management team (EMT) to enhance preparedness for disasters, disease outbreaks and other crises.
  6. Supported the governments of Palau, FSM, RMI, Nauru and Kiribati, to understand and address impacts of the global crisis of food, energy, and finance on national food systems.

To learn more visit: micronesia.un.org

UN Micronesia (MCO) Country Team

Resident Coordinator Office
UN Entities in Micronesia (MCO)

UN Key Documents

UNDAF/United Nations Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework (CP)

01 January 2018
31 December 2022
01 January 2023