伯利兹

联合国驻伯利兹协调员办公室景观
图片来源:© 联合国驻伯利兹协调员办公室

    联合国驻伯利兹系统

    联合国驻伯利兹国别小组致力于支持伯利兹政府、民间社会、非政府组织和私营部门加强国家能力,以实现可持续和包容性的人类发展。国别小组重视与所有利益攸关方的接触,包括政府、双边和多边捐助者、非政府组织、民间社会组织和私营部门。因此,联合国国别小组寻求不断加强其作为主要发展伙伴的地位,最主要的是通过建立和加强伙伴关系,支持有意义的对话平台。

    国别小组致力于支持伯利兹实现国家发展重点和国际发展承诺,包括可持续发展目标,并实现所有联合国人权条约的价值观、原则和核心。

    联合国多国可持续发展框架定义了联合国在2017-2021年期间与18个讲英语和荷兰语的加勒比国家和海外领土的合作方式,共同实现发展成果。

    这些国家包括安圭拉、安提瓜和巴布达、阿鲁巴、巴巴多斯、伯利兹、英属维尔京群岛、库拉索、多米尼克、格林纳达、圭亚那、牙买加、蒙特塞拉特、圣卢西亚、圣基茨和尼维斯、圣文森特和格林纳丁斯、圣马丁、苏里南、以及特立尼达和多巴哥。

    多国可持续发展框架旨在确保在国家发展努力中不遗余力,并体现了一个共同的信念,即加勒比国家类似的发展挑战需要联合国做出一致和协调的反应。

    里程碑

    1. 一个包容、平等和繁荣的加勒比地区:增加获得优质教育的机会;促进有竞争力和可持续的工业化活动;支持中小企业提高制造业的附加值,并将其纳入区域和全球价值链;通过促进体面的工作机会、创业精神和加强社会保护方案,改善社会保护。
       
    2. 一个健康的加勒比地区:加强国家的能力,让人们普遍获得公平、优质的服务和合适的营养,并利用预防疾病所需的知识,包括非传染性疾病。非传染性疾病是该地区疾病和死亡的主要原因。2017年,泛美卫生组织/世卫组织、开发署、人口基金和儿基会在卫生部的领导下,与其他国家伙伴合作,实现可持续发展目标的必要条件——保障人民能够得到充分的医疗保健服务。
       
    3. 一个安全、有凝聚力和公正的加勒比地区:支持改革和加强主要的安全和司法机构,加强法律和政策框架,促进透明度和问责制,以防止腐败。联合国系统还将协助发展机构和社区内的替代性争端解决能力,并促进各国的社会凝聚力。
       
    4. 一个可持续和有复原力的加勒比地区:在区域和国家层面加强机构和社区的复原力,包括自然资源管理;陆地、沿海和海洋生态系统的保护和可持续利用;可再生能源系统;以及包容性和可持续的社会;对自然资源和生态系统的可持续利用和管理采取综合办法。
       
    5. 普及优质保健服务和系统得到改善:2017年,伯利兹的国家疟疾方案调整了活动方向,更加关注疟疾传播最可能发生的地方,即所谓的风险分层,加强监测。这种方法旨在使疟疾干预措施更有针对性,并达到最有可能被感染的社区和人群。
       
    6. 伯利兹阐述并提交了第一份自愿国别审查审查。2017年7月,在联合国机构的集体支持下,伯利兹向可持续发展高级别政治论坛提交了报告。根据高级别政治论坛的指导,国家报告侧重于可持续发展目标1、3、5和14。在此过程中,联合国国别小组提供了不同层面的支持,开发署、经社部、儿基会、人口基金、妇女署和泛美卫生组织/世卫组织为报告的编写、参与磋商和验证会议提供了技术和财政支持。 儿童基金会编写了可持续发展目标简报,强调了与所有可持续发展目标有关的对儿童的影响。

    更多信息请前往https://belize.un.org/

    联合国驻伯利兹国家工作队

    驻地协调员办公室
    驻伯利兹联合国实体

    联合国重要文件

    联发援框架/联合国可持续发展合作框架(国家方案)

    联发援框架/合作框架开始时间
    2017年1月1日
    联发援框架/合作框架结束时间
    2021年12月31日
    新合作框架周期开始日期
    2022年1月1日

| Photo: UN RCO

The United Nations in Belize

The United Nations Country Team (UNCT) works to support the Government of Belize, civil society, non-governmental organizations and private sector in strengthening national capacities to achieve sustainable and inclusive human development. The UNCT values its engagement with all stakeholders, including government, bilateral and multilateral donors, non-governmental organizations, civil society organizations and the private sector. As such, the UNCT seeks to consistently build upon its position as a key development partner, most notably by creating and reinforcing partnerships and supporting platforms for meaningful dialogue.

The UNCT is committed to supporting Belize to achieve its national development priorities, and international development commitments, including the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and realize the values, principles and core of all United Nations human rights treaties.

The United Nations Multi-Country Sustainable Development Framework (UN MSDF) defines how the UN will jointly achieve development results in partnership with 18 English and Dutch-speaking Caribbean countries and Overseas Territories for the period 2017-2021.

The countries covered are Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Curaҫao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The framework aims to ensure that no one is left behind in national development efforts and exemplifies the commonly-shared belief that similar development challenges of the Caribbean countries require a coherent and coordinated response by the UN.

Milestones

  1. An Inclusive, Equitable and Prosperous Caribbean. Increase access to quality education; promote competitive and sustainable industrialization activities; support SMEs in enhancing manufacturing value-added and their insertion into the regional and global value chain; and improve social protection, through the promotion of decent work opportunities, entrepreneurship, and enhanced social protection programmes.
  2. A Healthy Caribbean. Strengthen the ability of the State to provide universal access to equitable, quality services and healthy nutrition, and to harness the knowledge needed for prevention of diseases, including non-communicable diseases (NCDs), the major causes of illness and death in the region. In 2017 PAHO/WHO, UNDP, UNFPA and UNICEF worked collaboratively under the leadership of the Ministry of Health along with other national partners towards achieving the GSDS necessary condition of adequate access to health care. 
  3. A Safe, Cohesive, and Just Caribbean. Support the reform and enhancement of key security and justice institutions and strengthen legal and policy frameworks to promote transparency and accountability, with a view to preventing corruption. The UN System will also assist in developing alternate dispute resolution capacity within institutions and communities, and foster greater social cohesion in countries.
  4. A Sustainable and Resilient Caribbean. Strengthen institutional and community resilience at both regional and national levels, in terms of natural resources management; the protection and sustainable use of terrestrial, coastal and marine ecosystems; renewable energy systems; and inclusive and sustainable societies; an integrated approach to the sustainable use and management of the natural resources and ecosystems.
  5. Universal Access to Quality Health Care Services and Systems Improved. In 2017, Belize’s national malaria programme reoriented its activities to enhance surveillance through greater focus on where malaria transmission is most likely to occur, known as risk stratification. This approach aimed to make malaria interventions more targeted and reached the communities and people most likely to be infected
  6. Belize elaborated and presented its first voluntary national report. In July 2017 with the collective support of UN agencies, Belize presented its VNR to the High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development. Further to the HLPF guidance, the country report focused on SDGs 1,3,5 and 14. The UNCT support was provided at various levels throughout the process with UNDP, UNDESA, UNICEF, UNFPA, UN Women and PAHO/WHO providing technical and financial support to the report preparation, participation in consultation and validation sessions.  UNICEF developed SDG briefs highlighting the impact for children related to all SDGs.

To learn more visit: https://belize.un.org/.

UN Country Team

Resident Coordinator Office

UN Entities in the Country

IAEA

Ms. Magali Zapata Cazier

Programme Management Officer for Latin America and the Caribbean
ILO

Ms. Claudia Coenjaerts

Director, Decent Work Team and Office for the Caribbean
UNAIDS

Dr. James Guwani

Team Leader & Senior Advisor, Caribbean Sub-Regional Team
UNODC

Mr. José Vila Del Castillo

Regional Representative Regional Office for Central America and the Caribbean

UN Key Documents

UNDAF/United Nations Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework (CP)

UNDAF/CF Start Date
UNDAF/CF End Date
Start of new CF cycle