两名女性在交谈
以人权为本
图片来源: ©人权高专办/Robert Few


普世价值
原则一:以人权为本


自1945年《联合国宪章》生效以来,人权一直是联合国工作的核心。在《世界人权宣言》的激励下,国际社会为所有人的尊严和幸福生活制定了一套出色的国际规范和标准,我们应为生在这样一个规范的时代而感到自豪。您可点击这里阅读更多成果相关信息。

以人权为本是人类发展进程的一个概念框架,在规范方面以国际人权标准为基础,在实操过程中以促进和保护人权为目标;通过分析处于发展问题核心的不平等现象,纠正阻碍发展进步并经常导致某些群体被遗忘的歧视性做法和不公正的权力分配。

在以人权为本途径下,发展计划、政策、进程、一系列权利以及国际法规定的相应义务为基础,包括所有公民、文化、经济、政治和社会等权利,以及发展权。以人权为本要求以人权原则(普遍性、不可分割性、平等和不歧视、参与性、问责制)指导联合国的发展合作,并注重发展“责任承担者”履行义务的能力,以及“权利拥有者”主张其权利的能力。   

虽然以人权为本没有通用的良方,但联合国机构在2003年《以人权为本促进发展合作的共识》中商定了一些基本属性,其中指出:

  • 一切有关发展合作、政策以及技术援助的项目都应贯彻《世界人权宣言》以及其他国际人权文件以进一步促进人权的实现。
  • 由《世界人权宣言》以及其他国际人权文件中所蕴含的人权标准以及由此衍生的一系列原则指导各部门和各阶段的一切发展合作与规划。
  • 发展合作有助于提高“责任承担者”履行其义务的能力,并且/或者鼓励“权利所有者”主张自己的权利。

普世人权索引(UHRI)工具旨在帮助各界获取由联合国人权监测系统的三大支柱提出的人权建议,这三大支柱是:根据国际人权条约设立的条约机构,以及人权理事会的特别程序普遍定期审议(UPR)。联合国可持续发展集团制定了加强与人权机构战略合作的指南

以人权为本是联合国可持续发展合作框架的六项指导原则之一。指导原则的附属部分为联合国国家工作队在合作框架内应用以人权为本方法提供指导,您可在网站菜单栏的资源栏目下找到联合国可持续发展集团与以人权为本相关的其他业务和培训材料。

Photo: © OHCHR/Robert Few
Human Rights-Based Approach


Universal Values
Principle One: Human Rights-Based Approach


Human Rights has been central pillar of the United Nation’s work from its inception in 1945 with the adoption of the Charter of the United Nations. We can proudly celebrate having given birth to a normative era in which the international community, inspired by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, has produced an outstanding corpus of international norms and standards for a life of dignity and well-being for all. You can read more about these achievements here.

The human rights-based approach (HRBA) is a conceptual framework for the process of human development that is normatively based on international human rights standards and operationally directed to promoting and protecting human rights.  It seeks to analyse inequalities which lie at the heart of development problems and redress discriminatory practices and unjust distributions of power that impede development progress and often result in groups of people being left behind.

Under the HRBA, the plans, policies and processes of development are anchored in a system of rights and corresponding obligations established by international law, including all civil, cultural, economic, political and social rights, and the right to development. HRBA requires human rights principles (universality, indivisibility, equality and non-discrimination, participation, accountability) to guide United Nations development cooperation, and focus on developing the capacities of both ‘duty-bearers’ to meet their obligations, and ‘rights-holders’ to claim their rights.  

While there’s no universal recipe for a human rights-based approach, United Nations agencies have nonetheless agreed a number of essential attributes in the 2003 Common Understanding on HRBA to Development Cooperation, which indicates that:

  • All programmes of development co-operation, policies and technical assistance should further the realisation of human rights as laid down in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights instruments.
  • Human rights standards contained in, and principles derived from, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights instruments guide all development cooperation and programming in all sectors and in all phases of the programming process.
  • Development cooperation contributes to the development of the capacities of ‘duty-bearers’ to meet their obligations and/or of ‘rights-holders’ to claim their rights.

The HRBA Portal is a repository of resources for country-level practitioners on mainstreaming human rights in programming.  It serves as a one-stop shop, providing access to relevant international human rights standards and instruments, programming tools and case-studies which demonstrate the application of a HRBA in practice. 

The Universal Human Rights Index is a tool designed to facilitate access to human rights recommendations issued by the United Nations’ human rights mechanisms, including the nine treaty bodies established under the international human rights treaties,  the special procedures and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) of the Human Rights Council.

HRBA is one of the six Guiding Principles of the United Nations Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework. The Companion Piece on the Guiding Principles provides guidance to United Nations country teams on application of the HRBA in the context of the Cooperation Framework, and other UNSDG operational and training materials on the HRBA can be found under Resources.